Drivers Education to Help You Pass The Texas Permit Test in 2023
Ready to start preparing for your Texas drivers permit test? If you are between 14 and 24 years old and live in Dallas, Austin or anywhere else in the state of Texas, you will find everything you need to get started, right here on this page! Welcome to our fantastic, free driver’s education course, suitable for 2023 DPS permit test applicants. This course covers traffic laws, road signs, driving skills and everything else you will be assessed on during the written driver’s license test. It is never too soon to start studying for the permit test, so why not get started right now?
Traffic Laws & Rules of The Road
Rules of The Road
Right of Way Rules
Passing & Being Passed
Stopping & Parking Responsibly
Seat Belt Laws & Regulations
Signs, Signals & Markings
People Directing Traffic
Driving Through Intersections
Before You Start Driving
Using Driving Lanes
Sharing The Road
Vulnerable Road Users
Trucks, Buses and Emergency Vehicles
Trains & Railroad Crossings
Complex Driving Environments
Driving In Different Environments
Driving on Rural Roads
Driving on Curves & Hills
Driving in Heavy Traffic
Driving on Highways
Highway Driving Safety
Driving in Work Zones
Hazardous Driving Conditions
Driving in Bad Weather
Medical Fitness for Driving
The Vigilant Driver
Preventing Distracted Driving
Your Driving Attitude
The Science of Driving
Natural Forces and Physics
Friction and Traction
The Physics of Traffic Accidents
Understanding & Avoiding Collisions
Driving Under The Influence
Impaired Driving: Laws, Penalties and Consequences
Driving Under The Influence of Alcohol
Driving Under The Influence of Drugs
Designed for Safety
Maintaining Your Vehicle
In Texas, driver’s training is taken very seriously. If you are 24 years old or younger, completing a state-approved Texas adult drivers ed course (also known as the 6-hour driver's license course for adults) is mandatory. The age at which you start learning will determine which requirements you must meet to get your hands on a learner’s permit. Teenagers aged 14 to 18 years old must complete one of two state-licensed drivers education courses, which features at least 32 hours of classroom learning and 44 hours of practical driving experience. Of those 44 hours, seven must be dedicated to behind-the-wheel driving and a further seven will be spent on driving observation. Then, you must complete 30 hours of supervised driving time, accompanied by a qualified adult who has held a full driver’s license for at least one year. This may be a parent, guardian or a qualified driving instructor. On successful completion of the driver’s ed course, you will be ready to take on the Texas permit test at the DPS office.
Texas driver’s license applicants who have never held a full license and are aged between 18 and 24 must complete the adult drivers education program prior to taking the permit test, though this will feature just six hours of classroom study time. If you are 25 or older, taking driver’s education is optional. Despite this, it is strongly recommended that you complete a reputable driver’s ed program if you are over 25, to make sure you have the knowledge and skills required to keep you safe behind the wheel. Plus, paying for a state-licensed 6-hour course will allow you to skip the DPS permit test altogether.
The bottom line is that driver’s education is vital to prospective license holders of all ages. You must learn about vehicle control, rules of the road, road sign meanings, defensive driving techniques, basic vehicle maintenance and how to adjust your driving behavior to suit different roadway environments, if you are to operate a vehicle without posing a danger to yourself and others. All that information is included in our Texas driver’s education course and you do not have to pay a single cent to access it. Whether you are a teen license applicant who wants to get a head start on your state-mandated driver’s ed or an adult over 25 years old who wants to complete the DPS permit test without taking the six hour drivers ed class, our driver education course can help you.
If you are an adult aged between 18 and 24 years old, using our Texas driver’s education course to support your state-mandated six-hour class is vital. Novice drivers of all ages are exposed to serious risk on the road. Being over 18 years old means that your study of road rules and driving safety best practices will be condensed into six classroom hours, rather than the full 32. Can you really say that you will be safe to get on the road after such a short course? Let our free drivers ed course for Texas applicants help you. Then, you can take a shot at one of our Texas DPS learners permit practice tests!
Would you pass a driving test today?
Find out with our free quiz!TAKE A FREE TEST